Dog Laws

Without identification, a lost dog may never make it home. License your dog online by January 1st.

Your best friend's best chance to make it home safely is to be properly licensed. All dogs 3 months of age or older are required by Pennsylvania law to have a current dog license. Failure to have your dog licensed may result in a fine of up to $300 (per dog).

License Fees


Annual License Fees


General:
  • Dogs that are spayed or neutered - $6.50
  • Dogs not spayed or neutered - $8.50
Senior Citizens, or Persons With Proof of Disability:
  • Dogs that are spayed or neutered - $4.50
  • Dogs not spayed or neutered - $6.50
License Your Dog Online

How to Get a Dog License


In Montgomery County, you can obtain a dog license by contacting:
Jason E. Salus
Montgomery County Treasurer
1 Montgomery Plaza
6th Floor
Norristown, PA 19404
Phone: 610-278-3066

For more information, contact the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture at 717-787-3062. You may also contact Montgomery County State Dog Warden Edward Bunt at 610-909-1173.